• Advertisement

Heads and hangovers

This is the junk yard of topics. For topics that don't fit anywhere else.

Heads and hangovers

Postby Alchemist75 » Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:16 pm

Now obviously making a good head cut can get a cleaner spirit flavor wise on a pot still but how about the idea that less heads means less hangover. Is this truly the case? Is it the heads/fores that make for a bad hangover or is this just a myth? Thoughts?
I've been running glass stills for over 20 years now and have no shame in saying so.
Alchemist75

Equipment type: All glass equipment, highly modular borosilicate lab glass. Volumes and configurations vary including a copper packed passive reflux apparatus and a modular glass thumper set up.

Re: Heads and hangovers

Postby Kareltje » Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:51 pm

About the hangovers: there was a story in the newspaper about a father farmacologist and a son doctor (or the other way around) that had invented a pill to cure hangovers. It seems quite a success, but the recipe was a secret and other methods seemd to work too.
Eat a lot of fat before drinking.
Drink a glass of water with every drink.
Eat some sugar before you go to sleep.
The son and father had studied literature, but their findings were not given in the article.

One would say that everyone with enough stamina could find their findings too.

I do not drink beer, for it makes me pee too much.
Liqqer makes me drunk too soon.
So I mostly drink wine.
But I never have a hangover.
On the other hand: maybe I think my hangover is the normal state to be. :lol:
Kareltje

Postby Alchemist75 » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:03 pm

There is that, maybe I've grown so accustomed to the "day after" that I don't know the difference. I have to say though that I just sprung right up this morning as though I had not had 6 gin and tonics along with 3-4 gimlet shots the night before.
I've been running glass stills for over 20 years now and have no shame in saying so.
Alchemist75