• Advertisement

Change in distilling tax legislation.

Spirits, distillation, and any other news links or resources you'd like to share.

Change in distilling tax legislation.

Postby Boomtown » Thu Jun 02, 2016 1:00 pm

Is anyone up to date on this Congressional action?

This is dated May 26,

HR 2520: Distillery Innovation and Excise Tax Reform Act of 2015 Introduced
May 26, 2015 12:17 PM
Large and Small Distillers Unite Behind Bi-partisan Legislation

WASHINGTON D.C. – A new bipartisan bill to cut federal excise taxes on distillers of all sizes has been introduced by Rep. Todd Young (R-IN) and Rep. John Yarmuth (D-KY), the Distilled Spirits Council (DISCUS) and the American Craft Spirits Association (ACSA) announced today.

The bill, HR 2520, the Distillery Innovation and Excise Tax Reform Act of 2015, which is supported by trade associations representing both large and small distillers, would cut the current tax rate of $13.50 per proof gallon to $2.70 per proof gallon on the first 100,000 gallons for all distillers. The bill sets a rate of $9.00 per proof gallon on all spirits above the 100,000 gallon threshold.

Importantly, the two trade groups agreed that these rates should apply to all distillers regardless of size, and to imported spirits as well as domestic products.
“It is significant that the distillers of all sizes are united behind this important hospitality industry legislation,” said Distilled Spirits CEO Peter Cressy. “We thank the sponsors for recognizing the economic impact passage of this bill will have for our industry.”

ACSA President Tom Mooney from House Spirits in Portland, OR, said, “This bill will help create jobs across America for the rapidly growing distilling industry. It will translate into real economic benefits and jobs for hundreds of small distillers and their surrounding communities.”